Thanksgiving and Giving Thanks

ImageHappy Thanksgiving (to my American friends, happy Columbus Day).  Today I want to say what I am thankful for. I am thankful for my family and the love we share daily. I am thankful for my kids, my son turned six yesterday, and I have to say that if his behaviour is indicative of growing up then I am a very happy mom today. 

Today, we have so much to be thankful for that brings us joy but what about the things that we are not so happy for? At church yesterday, our Dean suggested that we can also give thanks for the things that we may not necessarily like, for example, brussel sprouts!  Most of us don’t like it but we can be thankful for it.  We don’t like sharing but we are thankful for it because if someone did not share with us, where would we be today?  Dean Dixon challenged us to spend a few minutes every day for one day to think about one thing that we are thankful for. 

In that spirit, today I am increasingly thankful that I have you my followers and for those of who take the time to follow my posts, read my articles and comment privately and publicly when something interests you.  I am also thankful for my six year old, who brought home this turkey demonstrating the things he is thankful for!  He is scared of bees but he is thankful for them. I guess he understands what Dean Dixon meant even before the words were uttered.

What are you thankful for today? 

 

Leave a Reply

