****Girl Interrupted in a police car****

photo 3 Today, started like any other, I got up, showered, brushed my teeth and had breakfast.  There was however, one extra piece of news that was exciting for me – I was going to collect my free pillows from Leon’s Furniture store having won them (along with hundreds of others) on their Facebook page.  There is no such thing as free!!!!

In order to collect the FREE pillows, I had to go to another part of the city that I never visit – Wharncliffe Road and that required me catching a bus that I had never taken before. The number 12!  I caught the bus and everything went very smoothly and I was in and out of the store in less than seven minutes.  As I am leaving the store for the life of me I cannot figure out where the bus stop was to get home but thinking “rationally” I decide to walk until I find one.  HUGE ERROR!!!!!!

The side that I was on to get the return bus was under construction and the bus shed had been removed!  I walked two blocks in -10 degree weather searching for a bus stop to no end.  Finally, I was too cold and exhausted and decided to find someone to ask and as luck would have it, I found a police officer!  After explaining my situation she felt so sorry for me (it was -10 and I was a tad cold and miserable from being such a klutz) and offered to take me to the next bus stop. I must tell you that sitting in that back seat was very nerve wrecking but she was super nice and we chatted for a few minutes along the way.

As we approached the stop light it turned red so we had to stop!  There was this lady in a car next to us, who glanced over and saw me in the back seat and I could see the judgment in her expression.  I mentioned it to the officer and we both laughed at the misconception!  She also said that she understands because most people think that because she is cop, she is heartless and unfriendly.

I didn’t get her name but I am so glad I met Officer X.  However, I have to say, the back seat of the car was cramped quarters with virtually non-existent leg room and when I arrived at my stop, I realized that I could not open the door because there are no handles back there! So, while my pillows were free, my pride cost me took a beating today!  Lesson?  When you are going, always know how you are coming back!!!!!  Imagine, me in the back seat of a police car………thankfully, it was for good reasons!

Leave a Reply

