Belated Happy New Year

Image

I have been M.I.A. for a few weeks because, well, life intervened – exams, kids and then I caught the flu but I wanted to wish you all a very belated Happy New Year. 

The New Year brings so much promise and hope for the future,  it is like a clean slate where you can wipe your “sins” of the previous year away and start anew.  I did not make any resolutions this year except to make 2014 better than 2013 and so far it has not started out the best.  One day into the New Year and I spent three days in bed with the flu. I have to tell you, overcoming that was one of the most difficult things I have ever experienced.  The aches, the pains, the constant coughing – well you get the point.  I turned to all sorts of medicines to feel better but nothing but rest and time was needed (in addition to the many homeopathic remedies I found on WikiHow).  My kids were given their fair share of garlic tea with honey, ginger tea and lime and honey so much so that they are wary of anything I give in a spoon!  It did make them and me better so that was a plus. 

Shortly after recovering from the flu, we experienced the Polar Vortex – well the Province did, I did not because I stayed indoors and welcomed the chance to sleep and rest in the warmth and comfort of my bed.  However, there were temperatures up to -36 and I can imagine that it was very cold.  So we also survived the Polar Vortex – yay! 

It is back to school for me and I am very excited for this term as I am doing mostly Sociology courses this term having switched my second major from English to Sociology.  This is more in keeping with my original goal of doing Human Resources and the schedule allows me to be very flexible (I only have class two days per week) which should give me plenty of study time. 

After such a rude introduction to 2014, I started to wonder exactly does the New Year mean to me.  It means that I want to make changes in my life that ordinarily I would not have had the courage to make.  I also believe that we have one life to live, well that’s a fact, but sometimes you need reminding and if you can take the chance to be happy then why not do it.  This 2014 means that it is going to be a happy year for me full of promise, changes and good things.  Not a set of resolutions that I will inevitably break, but rather one big one that I am in control of – making myself happy because no one else can do that for you.  It is all within your control how you want this year to turn out. 

So my dear readers, did you make any resolutions?  What are they?  I will be back every week talking about various things that come up and hope you will stay the course!  If there are any topics you want to discuss please email me at girlinterruptedtoo@gmail.com. 

Belated Happy New Year and may this year be yours, come what may!

Leave a Reply

