International Women’s Day

Happy-International-Womens-Day-March-8-KToday is International Women’s Day and it celebrates the contribution women have made to society as mothers, wives, grandmothers, aunts, nieces, and businesswomen.

As I look back on what this day means, I am reminded about the power of women and the impact they have on our society. Mothers mold our generations and encourage them to be leaders and innovators.

This weekend, I thought of what it means to be a woman so I asked a few friends and the answers were varied:-

One said, that being a woman meant kickin’ ass and doing it all. Another said, being a woman equated to the job of multi-tasker. My friend, Angela, said that a woman was the leader. Whatever your thoughts on what being a woman means would be probably be correct.

As a woman, mother, career person, partner and student, I find that the role of being a woman to be that of multi-tasker. It’s a role that I enjoy, regardless of how frustrating it gets at times. However, the most important role I take on is that of mother to two children ages 10 and seven.

On this International Women’s Day, I want to salute my mom, a woman who has shown me what it means to be a woman. How to be a role model for my kids, how to discipline fairly and what it means to love unconditionally.

So today, salute all women, no matter how big or small and give thanks to them for giving us life, molding us and making us the men and women we are.

Happy #IWD2015

Leave a Reply

